April 2016 College Scholarship Winners Announced

Hannah Harris and Tara Vayne the 2016 April Scholarship Winners

We’re pleased to announce that our scholarship committee has selected two winners for our $2,500 college scholarship contest! There were many impressive applicants, but the committee has recognized two that stood out due to their ability to overcome obstacles in pursuit of their goals. Hannah Harris and Tara Vayne will each receive $2,500 to put toward their education.

"I am extremely grateful to SR Education Group for this scholarship opportunity,” said Hannah Harris of the University of Oklahoma. “This money will help me pay for my books and tuition so I can earn my Bachelor’s in Criminology." Hannah has spent the last 6 years of her life serving in the United States Air Force. She’s a single mother of two young children, and her dreams for the future include pursuing a career with the FBI, CIA, NCIS, or for the Air Force Office of Special investigations.

When told that she had won the scholarship award, Tara Vayne of St. Petersburg College updated us on her situation, saying, “I just found out three weeks ago that I was going to be a part of a major layoff with my company. As a single parent that is terrifying. I was considering dropping out again because of these circumstances. Then I heard from the SR Education Group team that I won the scholarship. I registered for summer semester that day. Thank you SR Education Group!” Tara was previously a successful salesperson, but has felt consistently held back by her lack of a college degree. We’re so glad to be a part of helping her get closer to her goals!

During the course of this contest, the committee came across many applicants who have faced personal and financial hardships and deserve scholarship help, so we decided to choose 5 contest finalists who will be awarded $100. “We are stretched almost to the breaking point at times, but we know it will all be worth it in the end,” said one finalist. The April 2016 Scholarship finalists are: Amber Lewis, Jacklyn Burk, Kelsey Vanden Plas, Debra Whitney, and Zachary Smith.

We encourage our finalists and all applicants to reapply for the next round! The next deadline to apply for our College Scholarships is July 16, 2016. Learn more and apply on our Scholarship's page.